The Third Weekend.
We got a whole lot of work done this weekend. I'm feeling optimistic that we might be finished by the end of next weekend.
Keith showed up right on time both Saturday and Sunday mornings, and repaired the drywall in the remaining two bathrooms. He also had to redo a few spots in the downstairs bathroom:



It is now nicely repainted and hopefully finished:


On Saturday morning, we finished the sanding in the living room. Finished!! We were finally able to start working on painting it.
First we had to tape everything off, which took a ridiculously long time:

Then we put a coat of primer on:




And today we painted it with the first coat of paint:



Ben put another coat on the guest room:



I primed both upstairs bathrooms and put a first coat of paint on the master:



The guest bathroom is still unpainted for now.

Our friend Sara came over and painted the closet in the master bedroom:

And Danny also helped by painting the washer/dryer closet and putting a second coat around the edges of the living/dining area (no pictures, sadly).
Finally, Ben started working on the walls in the last untouched room, the master bedroom. He pulled out a million heavy duty wall anchors and spackled over the holes, and also started with a little bit of sanding. You can see the texture here:


That's it!
Accomplished this weekend:
1. Living/dining room: Sanding finished, primed, painted.
2. Downstairs bath: Drywall spots fixed, repainted.
3. Master bathroom: Drywall fixed, primed, painted.
4. Guest bathroom: Drywall fixed, primed.
5. Guest bedroom: Another coat of paint applied.
6. Master bedroom: Holes spackled and sanding begun; closet painted.
7. Hallway washer/dryer closet: Painted.

5 Comments:
Molly, it looks amazing. AMAZING. You guys have done so much so quickly.
I need to come visit just stay in that perfectly red guest room.
Ah! You guys are doing such a great job. Don't kill me, but here's a tip: don't tape up windows. It's actually less time consuming to scrape the paint off the glass than it is to tape up each individual pane. You can also buy liquid masking which is much quicker for windows. I hope you have more (untaped) windows left and that I didn't just make you cry.
Ha, Adrien! Keith the handyman kept telling me similar things about the windows. The thing that worries me is the primer coat - it's a bitch to get off my skin compared to paint, so I'm worried it might be similarly difficult to get off the glass.
It's not really that difficult and definitely takes less time than taping up window panes. If you're really worried about it, try the liquid masking. It's good stuff and comes with it's own scraper!
You can also use vasoline on the windows. But you must sing the Flaming Lips when painting.
Post a Comment
<< Home